Jonathan Davidson, Director of Midland Creative Projects Limited, is a writer. He has published poetry and received an Eric Gregory Award in the 1990’s. Over the last ten years he has been commissioned by BBC Radio to write plays and adaptations. Recently he has written for the theatre company Interplay (Leeds).

Current Creative Writing work includes…

New collection of poetry, Early Train, was published by Smith/Doorstop Books in Autumn 2011. He read at the Bristol Poetry Festival alongside the actress Romola Garai, at Sheffield Off the Shelf Festival, Ilkley Literature Festival, (both with Ian McMillan and Paul Bentley), at Aldeburgh Poetry Festival, with Allison McVety and Ed Reiss, at Swindon, Cheltenham, London (Coffee House Poets), Manchester (Carol Ann Duffy and Friends, Manchester Royal Exchange), at The Wordsworth Trust at Grasmere and at the Wakefield Literature Festival.

Archive Creative Writing work includes (all undertaken by Jonathan Davidson)…

BBC Radio 3, The Nightfishing (Adaptation of W.S. Graham’s poem), broadcast on 27th November 2010 (includes a reluctant and unconvincing performance by Jonathan Davidson as himself).

BBC Radio 4 Afternoon Play, Miss Balcombe’s Orchard, broadcast on Monday 23rd August 2010.

Adaptation for the stage of Mary Webb’s novel Precious Bane, for Interplay (Theatre Company, Leeds), toured to over 100 venues nationally from Autumn 2008 to Spring 2009

BBC Radio Four Afternoon Play, Icarus Falling, broadcast July 2008 and repeated January 2009

BBC Radio Four Afternoon Play, The Making of the English Landscape, broadcast August 2007

BBC Radio Three, Friday Play, The Gunpowder Plot, broadcast November 2005

BBC Radio Four Afternoon Play, The Accident, broadcast 2004

BBC Radio Four Afternoon Play, Life Cycles, broadcast September 2003

BBC Radio Four Afternoon Play, CV5 – A Dance in a Surburban Ballroom, broadcast May 2001

BBC Radio Three, Mercian Hymns, radio adaptation of Geoffrey Hill’s iconic poem, broadcast 2000

Poetry Pamphlet, A Horse Called House, Smith/Doorstop Books, 1997

Poetry Collection, The Living Room, Arc Publications, 1994

Poetry Pamphlet, Moving The Stereo, Jackson’s Arm, 1993

Poetry Collection, Early Train, Smith / Doorstop Books, 2011